French wins for NDP in Oshawa; the only blip in a blue sweep of Durham ridings


Published June 2, 2022 at 8:04 pm

Pickering, Ajax, Whitby, Oshawa & Durham election results

Jennifer French (NDP) will hang onto her seat in the Oshawa Riding and prevent a Blue sweep in Durham, depite polls calling for her to finish in third place.

French, who was locked in a battle with Alex Down (PC) all night, won by 757 votes in  one of just two close races in Durham Region.

This will be her third term in office.

The other was in Ajax, where Patrice Barnes will take the seat left vacated by Rod Phillips. With all 41 polls reporting, Barnes has defeated Liberal Amber Bowen by 1,775 votes.

Barnes has served as a trustee for the Durham District School Board since 2014.

The other three races were runaways, with Finance Minister Peter Bethlenfalvy (PC) declared in Pickering-Uxbridge with a nearly 7,000-plus margin; Whitby incumbent Lorne Coe (PC) taking Whitby again easily and newcomer Todd McCarthy (PC) sweeping to victory in Durham Riding.

Bethlenfalvy had no problem dealing with Liberal Ibrahim Daniyal in Pickering-Uxbridge, taking 44.43 per of the total vote. Coe got off to a slow start but his momentum carried him to a landslide victory by more than 13,000 votes and a 48.51 per cent of the vote, the largest margin of victory in the region. McCarthy, a prominent lawyer who finished second to Liberal Ryan Turnbull in Whitby in the recent federal election, won his way to Queen’s Park by a whopping 10,337 votes, a 45.85 per cent plurality. The seat was held by Lindsey Park, who was elected as a Tory but ended her term as an independent.

David Piccini, whose Northumberland-Peterborough South riding takes in part of Clarington, regained his seat for the Conservatives as well. Piccini carried 50.95 per cent of the vote.

Pickering-Uxbridge 55/55

Peter Bethlenfalvy, PC (Inc.) 19,208

Ibrahim Daniyal, LIB 12,345

Khalid Ahmed, NDP 6,934

Julia Rondinone, GRN 2,266

Lisa Robinson, ONP 1,790

Elizabeth Tallis, NBP 543

Hasan Syed, CPO 76

Netalia Duboisky, OMP 70

Ajax 41/41

Patrice Barnes, PC 15,336

Amber Bowen, LIB 13,561

Christine Santos, NDP 6,291

Neil Runnalls, GRN 1,305

Garry Reader, NBP 625

Aaron Hopkins, ONP 330

Intab Ali, IND 127

Allen Hedley, IND 113

Whitby  61/61

Lorne Coe, PC (Inc.) 24,194

Sara Labelle, NDP 10,826

Aadil Mohammed, LIB 10,303

Stephanie Leblanc, GRN 2,605

Trystan Lackner, NBP 1,006

Emile Labaj, ONP 546

Douglas Thom, FP 203

Christopher Rinella, IND 184


Jennifer French, NDP (Inc.) 17,170

Alex Down, PC 16,413

Catherine Mosca, LIB 3,726

Katarina Dunham, GRN 1,641

Darryl Janssen, NBO 1,006

Dave Forsythe, ONP 843

Durham – 62/62

Todd McCarthy, PC 22,613

Granville Anderson, LIB 12,276

Chris Borgia, NDP 9,168

Mini Batra, GRN 1,981

Spencer Ford, NBP 1,898

Tony Stravato, IND 699

Lou DeVuono, ONP 686

Northumberland-Peterborough South 104/104

David Piccini PC (Inc.) 26,209

Jeff Kawzenuk, LIB 12,861

Kim McArthur-Jackson, NDP 6,721

Lisa Francis, GRN 2,918

Vanessa Head, ONP 1,573

Joshua Chalhoub, ONB 1,155


indurham's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising