Oshawa defender holds the line as Toronto Six win first ever Isobel Cup hockey title


Published March 27, 2023 at 4:19 pm

Oshawa's Saroya Tinker hoists the Isobel Cup in Arizona Sunday. Photo by Antramik Tavitian, Arizona Republic

Toronto Six became the first Canadian team to win the Isobel Cup with a dramatic 4-3 overtime win over the Minnesota Whitecaps in Tempe, Arizona Sunday evening.

The Six got the game-winner 4:23 into extra time on a roofed wrister from Tereza Vanisova after Taylor Woods tied it at threes seven minutes into the third.

Michela Cava, who had a pair of assists in the game, led the Six in playoff scoring with three goals and three assists. Domenika Laskova and Brianne Wilson-Bennett scored the other Toronto goals Sunday.

The club, which entered play in the Premier Hockey Federation three years ago, got a rock solid effort from their defence, led by Oshawa’s Saroya Tinker. Both Elaine Chuli in the Toronto cage and Minnesota ‘s Amanda Leveille had to be sharp, with Leveille stopping six Toronto shots in overtime before Vanisova beat her with the winner.

The game was played at Mullet Arena, home of the NHL’s Arizona Coyotes.

Overtime hero Tereza Vanisova fight for possession in Sunday’s Isobel Cup championship game. Photo by Antramik Tavitian, Arizona Republic

INdurham's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising