Oshawa introducing 40 km speed limits in select neighbourhoods


Published June 15, 2023 at 9:42 am

Oshawa has introduced new reduced speed limits in select Oshawa neighbourhoods in a 40 km/hr pilot program to improve community safety.

The program lowers speed limits that are typically 50 km/h to 40 km/h in five neighbourhoods across the city:

  • Conlin Rd. E., Townline Rd. N., Taunton Rd. E. and Harmony Rd. N. (Ward 1)
  • Taunton Rd. E., Ritson Rd. N., Rossland Rd. E. and Simcoe St. N. (Ward 2)
  • Aldsworth Cr., Townline Rd. N., Adelaide Ave. E. and Langford St. (Ward 3)
  • Adelaide Ave. E., Ritson Rd., John St. and the Oshawa Creek (Ward 4)
  • Cherrydown Drive, Townline Rd. S., Bloor St. E. and Grandview St. S. (Ward 5)

New ‘40 km/h Area’ signage has been installed at entrances and exits to all neighbourhoods to indicate where the new speed limits are in effect. Maps of each area are available on the City’s website.

The 40 km/h area pilot program was an approved recommendation from the City’s new Neighbourhood Traffic Management Guidewhich was updated in 2022 in a process involving two phases of public consultations.

Following the pilot program, City staff will report their findings and make recommendations for a program regarding future 40 km/h areas throughout Oshawa.

For more information, visit Oshawa.ca/speedpilotprogram.

indurham's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising