Oshawa plays perfect host as Hamilton’s McMaster Mauraders win OUA Women’s curling title


Published February 6, 2023 at 8:08 am

The McMaster Marauders can add the 2023 OUA Women’s curling Championship to their trophy case after beating the Laurentian Voyageurs in the final Sunday in Oshawa.

Madelyn Warriner and her McMaster team went 3-1 in the preliminary round before big wins against Western (7-3) and Queen’s (8-1) before squeezing out the victory against Laurentian, who will host the national championships in March.

McMaster, winners in 2020, came back twice in the gold medal match before a steal in the eighth and final end sealed the win. Three McMaster curlers also made the all-star team, including Second Evelyn Robert on the first team.

Laurentian, who took out Trent and Toronto Metropolitan (TMU) to reach the final, won the title in 2017, the last time the competition was held in Oshawa.

With all games played at the Oshawa Golf & Country Club, Ontario Tech played the perfect hosts in the championships, dropping all three games, including a 10-4 decision to Waterloo, who assembled a 4-0 round-robin record before falling to TMU 5-4 in the quarter-final.

In the bronze medal game TMU beat Queen’s and also earned a berth at the national championships alongside McMaster and host Laurentian.

In lieu of admission fees, Ontario Tech was accepting non-perishable food donations for Feed the Need in Durham and also donated one pound of food for every blank end during the three-day tournament.


First Team
Skip – Celia Evans – Waterloo
Vice – Grace Cave – Brock
Second – Evelyn Robert – McMaster
Lead –  Jessica Filipic – Toronto Metropolitan

Second Team
Lead – Sarah McCutcheon – Queen’s
Second – Julia Markle – Brock
Vice – Grace Lloyd – McMaster
Skip – Madelyn Warriner – McMaster

Joe Muldoon of Trent University was named OUA Coach of the Year.

indurham's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising