Oshawa to induct six into City’s Walk of Fame November 9


Published October 6, 2023 at 9:01 am

Ken Shaw
Ken Shaw. Photo courtesy CTV

The Oshawa Rotary Club will be rolling out the red carpet for six inductees at the 2023 Gala Dinner and Induction Ceremony at the Jubilee Pavilion at Lakeview Park. November 9.

The mission of the Oshawa Walk of Fame is to preserve, celebrate and showcase Oshawa’s history and heritage of excellence and achievement. The Oshawa Walk of Fame highlights the achievements and success of individuals and groups who have significantly contributed to the life of the city.

“At our Gala Dinner and Induction Ceremony, we will celebrate those who have significantly contributed to the City of Oshawa and beyond. We will honour the past and inspire the future,” said Louise Parkes, Co-Chair of the Oshawa Walk of Fame.

The 2023 inductees are long-time CTV News Anchor Ken Shaw; comedy writing team and head writers for Johnny Carson Andrew Nicholls and Darrell Vickers; The Ontario Regiment for its 157 years of service; Ross Mackie of the Mackie Group and opera singer Adriane Stewart.

Adriane Stewart. Photo courtesy Paul Borkwood CBC

“We are very proud of our rich history, accomplishments and community contributions that make us the great City of Oshawa,” said Mayor Dan Carter. “We’re excited to celebrate the Oshawa Walk of Fame’s new inductees and to highlight the many successes of community members who are integral to Oshawa’s strong past, present and future. I encourage residents to get your tickets and join in the celebration.”

The Oshawa Walk of Fame currently consists of plaques set into the sidewalks at the ‘Four Corners’ in downtown Oshawa. Past inductees include Shirley Eikhard, Tonya Lee Williams, Gary Polonsky and Sandy Hawley, among many others.

The event on Oshawa’s waterfront will start at 5 p.m. For more information about the gala visit www.oshawawalkoffame.ca. Tickets can be purchased by calling Louise Parkes at (905) 925-4771 or emailing her at [email protected].

Comedy writers Andrew Nicholls and Darrell Vickers


INdurham's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising