Turnbull wins tight race in Whitby for the Liberals


Published September 21, 2021 at 12:21 pm

Whitby MP Ryan Turnbull announced a $500,000 investment in electric vehicle infrastructure from Oshawa.

The race expected to be the tightest in Durham Region almost lived up to the billing, with Liberal incumbent Ryan Turnbull pulling away late from popular Whitby councillor and Conservative rival Maleeha Shahid to win re-election by just over 3,000 votes.

With 159 of 162 polls reporting, Turnbull earned 25,414 votes to top Shahid, who had the support of 21,009 voters. Turnbull won 43.6 per cent of the total vote against Shahid’s 36 per cent.

Brian Dias recorded 8,283 votes, Thomas Androvic of the PPC 2,627 and Johannes Kotilainen (Green) earned 948 votes.

indurham's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising