Whitby and Miners Lacrosse will play for Minto Cup in Brampton


Published August 26, 2022 at 12:04 pm

The Minto Cup final is set: The Whitby Warriors, who last won the national Junior A’ lacrosse title in 2013, will face the St. Albert Miners, the first team from Alberta to ever reach the final.

Whitby qualified by running the table at 3-0 in the round-robin portion of the tournament. The Miners took the hard route, dropping their first two games (including an 11-9 decision to Whitby) before beating Victoria to reach the semi-final where they dispatched Toronto Beaches 20-12 in the only blowout game in the entire tournament.

The Miners were led by nine point nights from both Mathieu Gautier and Jack Royer and four goals from Callin Harris.

The best-of-three final series begins Saturday evening at 7 p.m. at the CAA Centre in Brampton. Game 2 is on Sunday at 7 p.m. and if necessary, Game 3 will be Monday.

The Minto Cup Finals can be watched on TSN.ca and the OJLL YouTube channel.

indurham's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising