Whitby Warriors bounce Toronto Beaches to win Iroquois Cup


Published August 4, 2022 at 9:47 am

The Iroquois Cup

The Whitby Warriors are Ontario champions for the first time in nine years after a second-straight third period comeback earned the club a 11-9 victory over Toronto Beaches and the Iroquois Cup.

Brock Haley was the hero in this game, scoring three times in the first two periods and with his team down 8-7 heading into the third, scored twice more – including the winner with 6:43 to play – to spark the Warriors to victory and a 2-0 series win.

Both Whitby and Toronto qualify for the Minto Cup, emblematic of Junior A lacrosse glory in Canada, which kicks off in Brampton August 22.

Six players scored single goals for Whitby in Wednesday’s game from Iroquois Park Sports Complex in Whitby: Adam Poitras, Parker Pipher, Lucas Littlejohn, Owen Tapper, Tristen Dempers and Jake Darlison.

indurham's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising